## **TOWN OF BASSENDEAN**

## **MINUTES**

## SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING - ELECTIONS

HELD IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBER, 48 OLD PERTH ROAD, BASSENDEAN

## ON MONDAY 23 OCTOBER 2017 AT 7.00PM

## 1.0 SWEARING-IN OF NEW COUNCILLORS

The CEO introduced Mr Michael Kar, JP, who was in attendance to swear in the new Councillors.

Mr Michael Kar, JP called forward the following successful candidates of the 21 October 2017 Town of Bassendean Elections:

- Kathryn Ann Hamilton;
- Melissa Maria Mykytiuk;
- Sarah Quinton; and
- Jai Wilson.

The four Councillors made a Declaration of Office.

### 2.0 ELECTION OF MAYOR & DEPUTY MAYOR

Mr Andrew Wilson, Returning Officer for the Town of Bassendean, was in attendance to assist in the election of the Mayor and Deputy Mayor.

### 2.1 Election of the Mayor

The CEO called for nominations in writing for the position of Mayor. One nomination for Cr Renee McLennan was received in accordance with the Local Government Act.

The CEO declared Cr Renee McLennan elected unopposed to the position of Mayor.

Cr Renee McLennan made a Declaration of Office before Mr Michael Kar, JP.

Her Worship the Mayor, Cr McLennan, assumed the Chair for the remainder of the meeting.

## 2.2 Election of the Deputy Mayor

The Mayor called for nominations in writing for the position of Deputy Mayor. One nomination for Cr Bob Brown was received in accordance with the Local Government Act.

The Mayor declared Cr Bob Brown elected unopposed to the position of Deputy Mayor.

Cr Bob Brown made a Declaration of Office before Mr Michael Kar, JP.

## 3.0 DECLARATION OF OPENING/ANNOUNCEMENT OF VISITORS

Her Worship the Mayor declared the meeting open and welcomed all those in attendance.

All Councillors read aloud the opening statement declaration.

Cr Jai Wilson conducted an Acknowledgement of Country.

## 4.0 ATTENDANCES, APOLOGIES & APPLICATIONS FOR LEAVE OF ABSENCE

#### Present

#### Councillors

Her Worship the Mayor, Cr Renee McLennan

Cr Bob Brown, Deputy Mayor

Cr John Gangell

Cr Kathryn Hamilton

Cr Melissa Mykytiuk

Cr Sarah Quinton

Cr Jai Wilson

#### Officers

Mr Bob Jarvis, Chief Executive Officer

Mr Michael Costarella, Director Corporate Services

Mr Salvatore Siciliano, A/Director Community Development

Mr Simon Stewert-Dawkins, Director Operational Services

Mr Brian Reed, Manager Development Services

Mrs Sue Perkins, Executive Assistant

Mrs Amy Holmes, Minute Secretary

#### Guests

Mr Andrew Wilson, Returning Officer Mr Michael Kar, JP

## Public Public

Approximately 40 members of the public were in attendance.

#### Press

Nil

## 5.0 DRAWING OF LOTS FOR SEATING OF COUNCILLORS

Council's Standing Orders Local Law 2006, Part 4, clause 30, provides for the method of allocating seating positions to elected members.

The Chief Executive Officer and the Returning Officer conducted a random draw for seating positions in accordance with the Standing Orders. The outcome was:

Seat number 1 Cr Wilson
Seat number 2 Cr Brown
Seat number 3 Cr Gangell
Seat number 4 Cr Quinton
Seat number 5 Cr Mykytiuk
Seat number 6 Cr Hamilton

# 6.0 APPOINTMENT OF DELEGATES AND REPRESENTATIVES TO EXTERNAL ORGANISATIONS

### **APPLICATION**

Councillors were requested to consider nominating as delegates and representatives on external committees and organisations for a two year period, expiring on the next ordinary Local Government election day, unless otherwise indicated.

## <u>COUNCIL RESOLUTION/OFFICER RECOMMENDATION – ITEM 6.0</u>

## **SCM – 01/10/17** MOVED Cr Gangell, Seconded Cr Brown, that Council:

1. Appoints the following Councillors to be Members and Deputy Members to the following external Committees for the 2017/19 term:

Committee	Member(s)	Deputy/Deputies
WALGA		
— East Metropolitan Zone	Cr McLennan	Cr Brown
	Cr Gangell	
	Cr Quinton	
— Annual General Meeting	Cr McLennan	Cr Gangell
7 militari Conoral Wooting	Cr Quinton	or carigon
5 . M		0.0
Eastern Metropolitan Regional Council (EMRC)	Cr Mykytiuk Cr Wilson	Cr Brown
	CI WIISON	
Eastern Districts Planning Advisory Committee	Cr Hamilton	Cr Brown
Perth Airports Municipalities Group (PAMG)	Cr Wilson	Cr Brown
Territ Airports Mariiopanties Group (1 Aime)	OI WIISOII	Of Blown
Swan River Trust	Cr Mykytiuk	Cr Quinton
Swan River Trust - Interagency Foreshore Working	Cr Mykytiuk	Cr Brown
Group	Cr Quinton	O. Diowii

2. Endorses the following to sit on the Metro Central Joint Development Assessment Panel, for the term ending 26 July 2018.

Committee	Member(s)	Deputy/Deputies
Metro Central Joint Development Assessment Panel		Cr Brown Cr Wilson

## CARRIED BY AN ABSOLUTE MAJORITY 7/0

### 7.0 CLOSURE

The Mayor thanked everyone for their attendance and invited all those in attendance to partake of refreshments in the Committee Room.

There being no further business, the Mayor closed the meeting, the time being 7.35pm.